The Icon Awards have announced their shortlisted finalists for 2016.

The Awards, which celebrate diversity and inclusion and are in their second year, will feature some of Scotland’s leading politicians and campaigners for equality.

Finalists include newly elected Conservative MSP for Glasgow, Annie Wells in the Political Icon of the Year and Mhairi Black MP, who has been a prominent supporter of the TIE Campaign for inclusive education.

Sporting Icon finalists this year include football team Saltire Thistle, inclusive rugby team Glasgow Alphas and LEAP Sports Scotland, who hope to bring the Gay Games to Scotland in 2020.

Shortlisted for a second year in the Venue category is Glasgow’s iconic Waterloo Bar. The Argyle Street bar won the accolade in 2015 and also won at the LGBTI Awards organised by Equality Network in the same year.

Kate Adair, trans filmmaker and BBC The Social video blogger, has been nominated in the Media Coverage category.  Kate recently produced and directed a 2-part short film commission for Pink Saltire, titled “Scottish, Trans & Proud” which is currently touring the country.

Over 20,000 votes were cast in the public round of nominations for some of the most iconic and inspirational equality campaigners and organisations in Scotland.

Scott Barclay, Chair of the Icon Awards, said on the judging and decision of finalists “I am thrilled to present an inspirational group of candidates that have truly championed diversity in Scotland. The committee deliberated long and hard on finalising the ultimate shortlist from all the fantastic people and organisations who were nominated this year and I couldn’t be happier with our final nominees. My board and I wish everyone the very best of luck.”

80’s pop icon Chesney Hawkes was announced recently as one of the main acts. The “One & Only” singer and his band will entertain guests at the £110-per ticket dinner event. Other acts also include Glasgow samba band Samba Ya Bamba and Vangelis Polydorou from ‘The Voice’.


The awards will be held at Glasgow’s 5-star Hilton hotel on Sunday 23rd October and will be hosted by comedian and presenter, Bruce Devlin and BBC ‘One Show’ reporter and journalist, Jean Johansson.

Pink Saltire interviewed Icon Awards Chairman, Scott Barclay, earlier this summer and you can listen to his comments on plans for the 2016 celebration here:

Square Logo for LinkedIn

Full Awards Finalists 2016:

Charity of the Year Finalists

Future Choices, Aberdeen
Unity Enterprise Glasgow
Four Pillars, Aberdeen
LGBT Youth Scotland
Stonewall Scotland
Terrence Higgins Trust Scotland
Cash For Kids – Clyde One
Maryhill Integration Network, Glasgow
Cruse Bereavement Care Scotland
Alzheimer Scotland – Glasgow


Uniformed Icon of the Year

Lucy Ridgeway – Scottish Prison Service
National Trans Police Association
Scottish Police Muslim Association
Jane Christie-Flight – NHS
Alan Sneddon – Gay Police Association


Political Icon of the Year

Angela Crawley MP
Hannah Bardell MP
Annie Wells MSP
Mhairi Black MP
Tara Morris – LGBT Labour Scotland
Derek Mackay MSP



Cultural Icon of the Year

Susan Calman
Jackie Kay
Annie Wallace
Val McDermid
Mark Vice Art


Sporting Icon of the Year

LEAP Sports Scotland
Miss-Hits – Tennis for Girls & Judy Murray
Gordon Reid
Glasgow Alphas
Saltire Thistle FC


Event of the Year Finalists

Homeless World Cup – Glasgow
Pride Glasgow
Pride Edinburgh
Pride House Glasgow
Celebrate Aberdeen
Scottish Mental Health Arts and Film Festival
Glasgow Mela
Broughty Ferry Gala Week
Edinburgh Festival Fringe
Merchant City Festival


Venue of the Year 2016

AXM Club (Glasgow)
Habana, Edinburgh
Glasgow Women’s Library, Glasgow
The Spoon Cafe, Glasgow
CCA Glasgow
Cheerz Bar, Aberdeen
Cringletie House Hotel, Peebles
Boudoir Glasgow
RollerStop Glasgow
Waterloo Bar, Glasgow


Employer of the Year Categories

(Over 200 employees)
Barclays UK
Clydesdale Bank
Golden Jubilee National Hospital


Media Coverage Award Finalists

Pinksixty News
Coming Oot! (BBC)
Hannah Rodgers – Sunday Herald
Kate Adair


Business of the Year Finalists

Wedding Industry Business of the Year
Pearl & Plum Photography
The Flower Shop Elderslie
Vogue Scotland, Glasgow
Asteria Bridal – Make Up & Hair, Glasgow
Atholl Palace Hotel & Lodges Pitlochry

Beauty Industry Business of the Year
Rehab Hair Parlour, Dundee
Peaches Wax Bar Glasgow
Chris Johnston make up Artistry, Motherwell
Terry Dunn Hair Extension Specialists Motherwell
The Academy of Makeup Scotland Glasgow


Business Person of the Year

Paul Skovron – Clydesdale Bank
Scott McMillan – AXM Club (Glasgow)
Mark Tittle – Sky
John Dickinson – Tesco Bank
Mick Jackson – WildHearts


Spirit Award 2016

Susan Douglas-Scott
Lisa Charlwood-Green
Zero Tolerance, Edinburgh
Natalie Scott
Jan Irvine


Congratulations to all the individuals and groups shortlisted and all those who nominated during the open process.


Leave a Reply